Mad World

soundtrack for my ‘quit smoking’ project. this one’s originally by Tears for Fears but i like the version by Gary Jules much much more. don’t know how to upload songs in here so you all will just have to take my word for it.

Jules does his rendition with piano, slower, more mellow, more melancholy. first heard his version in a CSI episode and just had to download it. been listening to it every morning since. i told my friend joanna that it gets me in the mood to write press releases.

All around me are familiar faces
Worn out places
Worn out faces
Bright and early for the daily races
Going no where
Going no where
Their tears are filling up their glasses
No expression
No expression
Hide my head
I wanna drown my sorrow
No tomorrow
No tomorrow
And I find it kind of funny
I find it kind of sad
The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had
I find it hard to tell you
I find it hard to take
When people run in circles it’s a very very
Mad world
Mad world
Children waiting for the day they feel good
Happy birthday
Happy birthday
Made to feel the way that every child should
Sit and listen
Sit and listen
Went to school and I was very nervous
No one knew me
No one knew me
Hello teacher tell me what’s my lesson
Look right through me
Look right through me
And I find it kind of funny
I find it kind of sad
The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had
I find it hard to tell you
I find it hard to take
When people run in circles it’s a very very
Mad world
Mad world
Enlarging your world
Mad world

i’ve also been re-experiencing Hair lately. saw the musical years ago c/o sinag’s tatay’s prolific audio-video collection. most of my downloads are remakes though and i’m half-obsessing over finding the cd where i saved all the original versions of the songs before my old computer crashed down. the remakes are all good but they’re not the same.

i smoke most when i’m in front of the computer, i think. so i’ve resolved to listen to music everytime i’m working for distraction. so far it’s working. but withdrawal’s a real bitch. i don’t feel too good lately. nato says it’s but normal for the first few weeks. ha! he wants me to go cold turkey. i’d rather die.

i’m blabbering. am working right now but i needed a short distraction from that cursed cigarette hence this post. more panic pangs. someone please root for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mad World

  1. guillerluna says:

    paborito ko yang version na yan ng mad world. themesong ko yan nung first quarter, alam mo na naman ang nangyari nun. hehehehe. panoorin mo donnie darko, starring the adorable jake gylenhaal… 80s soundtrack. ahehehehe

  2. Suyin says:

    may original version ang nanay ko ng soundtrack ng hair musical. kaya lang in vinyl version pa. kelangan ng turntable para mapakinggan. haha! paborito ko din mga kanta dun nung high school ako. mga panahong di pa nasisira ang antigong turntable namin sa bahay sa bicol. sob.

  3. Suyin says:

    paborito ko nga pala nun ang aquarius, good morning starshine, at syempre, hair. hehe. yun lang mga naaalala ko.

  4. You have to see Donnie Darko. It’s a 2002 film by Richard Kelly. That movie just killed me.There’s this “alternative to nicotine patches” chewing gum called Nicorette. It’s available at drugstores. Downside: they cost Php20 each. Steep.

  5. adarna says:

    yinsu,ako white boys, donna at frank mills. at syempre nga, hair. hehe. galing noh? jeeu, na-try ko na ang Nicorette. hindi ko nagustuhan. blech! saka pahiram ng donnie darko kung meron ka

  6. fuwagirl says:

    I’m so proud of you! Wow, quitting. You know I was on and off smoking since starting when I was 20 – yeah latebloomer, I’m 27 now. Recently, I’m trying to quit again, not buying cigarette packs and just bumming yosi. There was a time I started when I dry-heaved because I wasn’t used to the taste anymore and used that to quit. Now I’m realizing that I use cigarettes as a crutch to not fully deal and relieve myself of gaining clarity when I have that solitary time to really think about things or as a way to talk to people. But it’s soooo hard!~rach

  7. adarna says:

    hi rachel!it IS soooo hard. i’ve been smoking since i was 12. heavy smoking. that’s A LOT of cigarettes! just want to get it out of my system. when you guys come back here hopefully i’d have kicked the nasty habit. haay.kumusta kayo dyan? say hi to everyone for me, ok?

Leave a Reply

